Facebook

How to Stop Others from Tagging You On Facebook?

How To Stop Others Tagging Me In Facebook

Facebook is a fantastic social networking platform to interact with other, share photos, videos, views/opinions, promote business and much more. While there are more than numerous reasons for being a Facebook user, there are a couple of factors that may affect your Facebook experience. One of these is your friends tagging you unnecessarily in their every post. Getting tagged and receiving notification one after other can be frustrating that you might feel like unfriending the person tagging. Instead of unfriending anyone from your friend list, making a few changes to the Security Settings section can help you stop others from tagging you on Facebook.

To know what you need to do to stop your FB friends from tagging you or posting on your profile, follow the step-by-step instructions mentioned hereinbelow.

Steps to Stop Others from Tagging You on Facebook:

 

1.) Sign into your Facebook account from computer/laptop and click on the “Down-Arrow” icon located in the top-right section of FB’s menu bar. This will open a drop-down menu on your screen.

2.) From the drop-down menu that appears on your screen, click on the “Settings” option. This will direct your “Settings” page.

facebook setting

3.) In the “Settings” page, select the “Privacy” option from the left-hand side panel.

Facebook Support Number +1-800-385-1807

4.) In the “Privacy” section, go to “Your activity” section and click on the option – “Review all your posts and things you’re tagged in”. This will take you to “Activity log” page.

5.) Click on the “Gear icon”. A “dialog box” will pop up on your computer screen.

6.) Go through the message displayed on the dialog box. You will get to know that you can manually approve posts that you are tagged in before they appear on your Timeline. Whenever you notice that you have a post to review, just go to the “Timeline review” section of your “Activity Log”.

However, you must know that FB only lets you control what to and what not to allow on your timeline. The posts that you get tagged in are going to still appear in the Search, News Feed and other places on Facebook.

facebook timeline and tagging

7.) To activate this feature in your Facebook account, simply click on the “Down-Arrow” icon on the top-right corner of the dialog box and select “Enabled” option. Then click on the “Close” button located on the bottom-right corner of the dialog box.

8.) Enabling this feature will make the posts you get tagged in to get your approval before they are shown on your Timeline. You can accordingly “Hide” the post or “Add to Timeline”.

9.) In case you wish to remove an existing “tagged post” from your Timeline, simply go to Activity Log and select “Posts you’re tagged in” or “Other people’s post” (as per your condition).

10.) Click on the “Edit” option located just next to the post you wish to remove from your timeline. Simply click on the option “Hidden from timeline” to hide a post from your timeline.

This is how you can manage posts that you get tagged in your Facebook account. If you need further assistance regarding above or if you have any other queries related to FB, feel free to get in touch with our Facebook customer support team for prompt assistance.

Leave a Comment