Facebook

How to Block or Unblock Someone On Facebook?

block or unblock someone on Facebook

Facebook is one of the top social networking websites where users posts comments, make friends, chat live, watch short videos, share photos/videos, post links to news and other interesting content on the web.

While Facebook is an interesting platform to get in touch with people around the world, get information on worldwide affairs and promote business products and services, however, it can be bothersome as well when a person tries to annoy you by posting comment on the posts you share with the public, or sending your friend request and messages.

Although Facebook does provide you with an option to hide friend request and the messaging option for your account, if even after hiding these options you are being bothered by someone on Facebook, you can simply block the person in your Facebook account.

To know how to block someone on Facebook, follow the step-by-step instructions provided below.

5 Steps to Block Someone on Facebook

1.) Sign in to your Facebook account and click on the drop-down icon located on the top-right corner of your Facebook account. A drop-down menu will appear on your screen.

2.) From the drop-down menu list, click on the Settings option. You will be directed to the Settings section of your Facebook account.

3.) Under the Settings section, you will need to click on the Blocking option located on the left-hand side panel. This will take you to the blocking section of your FB account.

block someone on facebook

4.) In the Blocking section, go to the Block Users section and enter the name of the person you wish to block in the field provided next to Block users.

5.) After entering the name, click on the Block button. A list of people with that name will open on your screen. Simply click on the Block option next to the person you wish to block. The person will be blocked permanently. You can find the name of the blocked person just below the field where you entered the name of the person to block.

NOTE: If the person you blocked was added in your account earlier, he/she will be removed from your friend list when you block him/her.

Also, in case you are unable to find the person by following these steps, you can simply go to his profile and click on the three horizontal dots located in the lower-right corner of the cover photo and select the Block option from the drop-down list. The person will be blocked from reaching you through Facebook.

block in Facebook by profile

So, this is how you can block someone on Facebook. In case, in future you wish to unblock a person you blocked in your Facebook account, you can do so easily by following the step-by-step instructions provided hereinbelow.

5 Steps to Unblock Someone on Facebook

1.) In your Facebook account, click on the drop-down icon located on the top right corner of your FB account’s page. This will open a drop-down list with a couple of options.

2.) From the drop-down list, you will need to click on the Settings option. Clicking on this option will direct you to the Settings section of your Facebook account.

3.) In the Settings section of your Facebook account, you will need to click on the Blocking option located on the left-hand side panel. You will be directed to the Blocking user section.

4.) Under Blocking user section, you will see the list of blocked users on the right-hand side panel under the Block user section.

5.) From the list of blocked users, you will need to click on the Unblock option next to the person you wish to unblock. The person will be unblocked and will be able to reach you through Facebook.

NOTE: When you unblock a person in your Facebook account, you will not be able to block him/her again for a few days.

While unblocking the person will allow him/her to reach you through Facebook, you will again need to add him/her as a friend if you wish to add him/her again to your friend list.

To add the person back to your account, you will need to visit his/her profile and click on the Add Friend button located on the lower-right corner of the cover photo of the person.

So, this is how you can easily block a person in your Facebook account and unblock him/her again whenever you wish to.

Leave a Comment